RCM training & certification

Reliability Centered Maintenance (RCM) is a high quality methodology to manage failure behavior of complex processes. RCM is mostly used for high critical systems. The result of RCM is a maintenance concepts that covers the current failure behavior as described in the FMEA (Failure Mode Effect Analysis). The maintenance concept must be nested into a maintenance plan in order to upgrade the maintenance program in your CMMS.

RCM is standardized worldwide in accordance with SAE JA1011 and SAE JA1012. (https://www.sae.org). You can buy the standards here:

In order to execute RCM correctly, a team of highly experienced people is needed which have updated knowledge of the failure behavior of the system being analyzed. Most experience is found in all operational departments that work daily with the system and have a direct effect on failure behavior. These people work together in a RCM workgroup and use RCM to define that failure behavior and develop the maintenance concept using RCM. The workgroup is managed by a RCM facilitator. The group is at least certified to a RCM level 1 to be able to execute RCM the right way and to define the failure behavior using the 34 RCM definitions. These RCM definitions are crucial for applying RCM because if you understand the definitions you are able to understand the logic behind failure failure behavior and do something about it. It also helps to communicate about failure behavior effectively.

In accordance with these standards there are different levels for people who apply RCM professionally. The background of this is that RCM can only be applied correctly by people who have shown that they have a certain level of knowledge in the field of RCM.

Maintenance programs must be maintained too

RCM is a team approach. That team uses the RCM methodology to analyze a process with the goal of developing a maintenance concept that covers the current failure behavior. But failure behavior in dynamic production processes is not static. Failure behavior is changing all the time. It is dynamic due to:

  • modifications that influence failure behavior
  • changing / updated procedures that prevent failure behavior
  • the weather outside can influence static electricity inside and result in failures
  • people change jobs and when experiences change, failure behavior changes too
  • new machines are installed and people have to gain experience before it is running reliable
  • where people work, mistakes are made and this influences failure behavior
  • there are many more reasons why failure behavior changes in time.

Dynamic production processes must be maintained with dynamic maintenance concepts > plans > programs.

If failure behavior changes, the FMEA must be updated. The updated FMEA is used to update the maintenance concept > maintenance plan > maintenance program so you are continuously able to cover the current failure behavior that affects cost, risk, availability, reliability, quality, efficiency, …

If RCM is applied correctly a second facilitator runs the RCM review group. This is the opposition of the RCM workgroup.

The following RCM Levels are used worldwide.

RCM training is available here.

Order a RCM training here.

RCM Level 1: RCM workgroup member

The RCM workgroup consists of people who have a lot of current knowledge and experience of the failure behavior of the process to be analyzed. They answer the questions of the RCM facilitator.

The online RCM Level 1 training is an introduction in Reliability Centered Maintenance. It is a Blended learning training. This means it is a combination of self study in a Learning Management System and 4 online sessions and presentations. The 5th session is the final exam.

After your order you will receive your account details to login in our LMS where you will find all training materials for the training including:

  • RCM book: Dynamic RCM
  • 40 short videos about all different parts of RCM
  • 13 modules
  • Quizes to test your knowledge.
  • Two trial exams
  • The final exam will be shown in this LMS on the 5th day.

RCM Level 1 gives you a introduction how maintenance concepts should be developed. These concepts must be nested into maintenance plans to upgrade the maintenance program in the CMMS. RCM Level 1 gives you a lot of background information about how to manage failure behavior of assets and complex production systems. You will receive detailed information about predictive, proactive, preventive, detective, reactive and directive tasks. You will receive information about when one of the following task types can be selected and how to calculate the intervals:

  • on-condition maintenance or inspections
  • discard
  • restoration
  • combination of tasks
  • failure finding or testing
  • run to failure
  • redesign mandatory
  • redesign desirable

Order your RCM Level 1 training here.

RCM Level 2: RCM facilitator

The RCM facilitator is highly trained in the RCM method and knows the pitfalls, tips and tricks and guides the workgroup to efficiently and effectively develop the maintenance concept. The RCM facilitator knows the interval formulas and will nest the maintenance concept into a maintenance plan.

RCM Level 3: RCM teacher

The RCM Teacher may train and supervise participants to RCM Level 1 and RCM Level 2.

RCM Level 4: RCM examiner

The RCM examiners are chosen from the group of RCM teachers. They have a long RCM track record and have made a special contribution to the application of RCM. RCM examiners are highly respected RCM experts.

European Reliability Centre (ERC) B.V. offers these certified RCM trainings according to the international RCM standards. Contact us for more information.